top of page

Mr. Suraj Prakash


Subject Taught: Physics                                                



Birthday: 15 October   - 27 June 2020

Date of Joining Navayug:  16.02.1973                       Date of Leaving Navayug:  01.05.88



Career brief:


Studied Masters In Physics and Masters IN Education ( Delhi Uniersity). Started career with Modern School Barakhambha Road as PGT Physics. Taught there from 1970 to 1973. Joined Navayug School in 1973 and taught as Head of Science Department until 1988. Joined CRPF Public School as Founder Principal in 1988 and worked till 31.03.2010. Currently Director of BBPS Training Centre at Bal Bharti School, Pitam Pura, Delhi.


Been a member / Headed various committees A partial list is -  CBSE - The Committee of Courses to prepare the Syllabi for Classes X & XII, Special invitee Governing Body of CBSE, Member Finance Committee CBSE, Curriculum Committee for AIEEE. NCERT - Member –Committee of Measurement and Evaluation in Education, Member -Committee on the preparation of School text books

Presented several papers at National and International Forums. Some of the papers presented are: 


National University of Educational Planning and Administration (Papers Presented)

  • Effective school - Role of Principal.

  • Addressing Value Contradiction through school curriculum – Role of a teacher.

  • Globalisation of Education under WTO – Approach and Perspective.

  • School leadership and effective supervision

  • Innovations in school administration


National Council for Educational Research and Training (NCERT)

  • Member Committee Central Institute for Educational Technology.

  • Member – Committee on development of Science curriculum.


Common Wealth Association of Science and Maths Educators, UK.

  • Member and presented paper

  “ Science and Maths Education to/for Society” at the International Meet Held in April 1982


Indian Association of Physics Teachers 

  • President Region one

  • Presented papers on Laser Experiments and wrote a Lab Manual with Prof. Ved Ratna.


National Progressive Schools’ Conference (NPSC)

National Progressive Schools’ Conference Right from the inception in 1973,  have been associated with NPSC as Physics Teacher Modern Public School and later as a principal CRPF Public School. Attended all Annual Conferences of NPSC and contributed towards organizing various programmes and events on behalf of NPSC. Mr. I. B. Kakkar, Principal Navayug School on Jt. Secretary/ Treasurer NPSC gave  responsibility to pursue Science Education- Activities and Innovation Programmes organized by NPSC.

Later on since, 1995, as Principal CRPF Public School, joined as an executive Committee member of NPSC and held following positions:

  • 1998 - 2000 Secretary

Organized Silver Jubilee Conference for 3 Days and presented papers on Value Education. Honoured past Chair persons of NPSC and had number of Speeakers from USA and Australia.


  • 2000 - 2002   Vice Chairman

Introduced ICT based teacher development programmes for the first time Introduced TWINNING PROGRAMME- NPSC School partnering with Government School. TWINNING PROGRAMME was appreciated by Sm. Shiela Dixit then CM of Delhi.


  • 2002- 2004 Chairman

Since 2010,  a life Member of NPSC and for the past about 20 year’s member of the executive Committee NPSC. Regular to attend all executive Committee Meetings, General Body Meetings and various events and conferences of NPSC. Contribute as a member of various Committee constituted.


Scientist By Mail 

          Boston Science Museum, Boston   USA

Visiting Faculty

  • Department of Leadership and Policy, University of Texas, Arlington Houston, USA

  • Advanced programming in Physics - School Education Huston Texas

  • Coordinator Training Programme for Principals, Ambuja Cement Schools all over India



Contributor – Confidential work regarding question Bank for various competitive Examinations


Achievements and Awards:

  • Dr.Radhakrishnan Award for the meritorious services in the field of education, innovations and creativity in year 2000.

  • Outstanding Principal: Department of Education, Delhi University for the year 2002

  • Delhi State Teacher’s Award: Conferred by Smt.Shiela Dixit, Honourable, Chief Minister of Delhi 2002

  • National Award  for Outstanding teachers: for the year 2003 by Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, President of India

  • Global Human Rights Protection Award: Conferred by Indian Institute of Human Rights in 2006

  • Avantika Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Samman 2007.



  • Text book of Physics for Classes XI and XII.

  • Conceptual problems in Physics Senior School

  • Numerical problems in Physics Senior School

  • Practical Physics Senior School

  • CBSE Publication: Science Lab. Manual for Secondary classes.



  • Govering Body,  SPM College, Panjabi Bagh, Delhi

  • Governing Body-College Of Vocational Studies Delhi University

  • Governing body-Scindia School, Berrally

  • School Managing Committee-Bal Bharati Public School, Rohini                                                 

  • Panjab DAV Public School, Jallandhar                                                                                                         

  • Committee of Courses ( Physics) CBSE                                                                                                        

  • NDA Evaluation (Question Bank) UPSC                                                                                                  

  • Visiting Faculty….Principals” Orientation Programme. National University 0f Educational Planning and Administration.     


At Present

  • Director, BBPS Training Centre

  • Secretary / Manager – Bal Bharati Public School Rohini & Noida

  • Advisor Education – Child Education Society                                                                                                                                  

Message to Students :

Start where you are, with what you have, create something purposeful and keep moving.





(Available on phone and email) 

Profile updated on April 17, 2015

bottom of page